Clear Fog Blog

Political musings from Warren E. Peterson

Dumb!

Posted by Warren Peterson on October 12, 2012

I used to clean my gutters by taking a blower on the roof and blasting out the leaves and debris. As I aged, I began to think it was only matter of time before I took a header off the roof so I had Leaf Guard gutters installed. Expensive but still cheaper than potential damage to my body from a fall. I still had to sweep off two flat roof areas but that only required going up a ladder to the roof a few times a year.

All this brings me to yesterday. Though I know better than to lean a ladder against a wall at a steep angle, I didn’t want to put the ladder on the gutters or the metal flashing around the flat roof nor did I take the time to get the adjustable ladder I usually use. So I set the ladder on the wood siding and stone walkway at about a 45-degree angle. Went up to the roof, fine, but coming down, the ladder slid out on the stone footing and only stopped from crashing to the ground with me on it by a flower pot bracket. Good luck so far except when the ladder hit the bracket it twisted sideways and tossed me onto the stone about four feet below. I don’t usually carry my cell phone while doing outside work but fortunately I had it with me so I was able to call Barbara for assistance.

Bottom line: Six hours at Northwest Hospital Emergency Room for a cracked bone in my left arm near the wrist and a gash to the bone on my left elbow and a cast in a sling from above my elbow to the middle of my hand.

Lesson Learned: Use the right equipment for the job and set a ladder properly. Yeah, I knew it, just stupid!

Blessing: It could have been a much worse.

4 Responses to “Dumb!”

  1. nancy timms said

    We hire someone to do this twice a year! Besides that, I took away army’s ladder!! Sorry about your ‘lesson learned’ accident!

    Sent from my iPhone

    On Oct 12, 2012, at 4:04 PM, Clear Fog Blog wrote:

    WordPress.com Warren Peterson posted: “I used to clean my gutters by taking a blower on the roof and blasting out the leaves and debris. As I aged, I began to think it was only matter of time before I took a header off the roof so I had Leaf Guard gutters installed. Expensive but still cheaper”

  2. Thomas Barnes said

    Sorry to hear about your accident. I am very glad it wasn’t much worse, and I hope and pray you heal quickly!

  3. fred Churchill said

    Ouch! I had my ladder accident/lesson when I was 40, so I have been a coward ever since. Glad it was not worse.

  4. irene dabanian said

    nothing wrong with ladders…just take the time to do it right and remember that we do not heal as easily at this point in life as we used to…that is the hardest lesson to remember. We all feel so much younger than we are!!!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

