Clear Fog Blog

Political musings from Warren E. Peterson

McKenna’s Plans for the Future

Posted by Warren Peterson on July 20, 2009

I, and I’m sure everyone else on his mailing list, received the below e-mail from Rob McKenna. Should Patty Murray be concerned? She has faithfully towed the Democrat Party line since entering the U.S. Senate over 16 years ago. It has earned her leadership positions and pork power for Washington State. But will this be enough to win a fourth term in 2010? Will her obsequious support for everything Obama – stimulus spending, cap & trade, government health care, economic policy etc. – haunt her should Obama fail to gain public approval for his lurch to the Left? McKenna, up for reelection in 2012, has a free ride should Patty prove vulnerable in 2010. Even if he challenged her and lost, he’d be the leading candidate for Governor in 2012. Should he win, Washington State would have one of the smartest members of the what has been called the most exclusive club in the world, the U.S. Senate. That would be the “Change We Need.”

clearfogblog

Dear Friend,

I am writing today to thank you again for your continued support and confidence. Thanks to you, the past year has proven to be very successful both in the Attorney General’s office and in my political life. Last year, running on my record of reducing the scourge of methamphetamines in our communities and protecting vulnerable populations from identity theft,

· I was re-elected by a margin of nearly 20%.

· I was proud to receive the largest number of votes of any Republican candidate for any office in Washington State
history.

· I won 58% of the vote in Pierce County – my opponent’s home county.

· I won 54% of the vote in King County.

· I won 61% of the vote in Snohomish County.

· I received a larger percentage of the vote statewide than President Barack Obama and came within 60,000 votes
of his total vote count, even though turnout for the presidential race was considerably higher.

Since returning to the Attorney General’s Office, I have spent considerable time visiting cities and towns across the state in order to stay connected with the needs of individuals, families and their communities. In the next year I will,

. Return to every county at least once.

· Meet with grassroots leaders to help them achieve their goals, particularly in legislative candidate recruitment and
support.

· Expand my social networking capabilities to improve that efficiency and quality of my communication with all of our
state’s citizens.

· Share our vision for Washington State with current and new supporters.

In order to achieve these goals, I ask for your help once again. Please log onto http://www.robmckenna.org and make a contribution today. Alternatively, you may send your contribution to PO Box 955, Mercer Island, WA 98040-0955.
Thank you again for your continued support. I look forward to seeing you soon in your hometown! In the meantime, stay in touch by logging onto my Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/robmckennadotorg . Thank you very much.

Sincerely,

Rob McKenna

Leave a Reply

 
